

To: Dane County TownsFrom: Renée Lauber, Executive DirectorDate: April 7, 2023Re: 2023 Annual Meeting and District Election Notice

**PLEASE TAKE NOTICE**, pursuant to Article IV of the By-Laws of the DCTA, that the Association shall hold its Annual Meeting and biennial election of Directors on Wednesday, May 17, 2023 at the Middleton Town Hall.

## THE DCTA BOARD AND DISTRICTS

The DCTA Board of Directors consists of seven (7) members. Any elected Town Chairperson, Supervisor, Clerk or Treasurer is eligible to seek election to the Board. An appointed Town Administrator, Clerk or Treasurer may seek election with approval of the Town Board by whom they were appointed.

The Board is elected from the following seven (7) Districts. List of current Director and District Towns:

District 1 – Bristol, Burke, Sun Prairie, York. [Jerry Derr, Bristol].

**District 2** – Blooming Grove, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, Dunn, Medina [Steve Anders, Cottage Grove].

District 3 – Albion, Christiana, Dunkirk, Pleasant Springs, Rutland [Ted Olson, Dunkirk]

**District 4** – Montrose, Oregon, Perry, Primrose [Martha Gibson/Mick Klein-Kennedy, Primrose/Perry].

District 5 – Blue Mounds, Middleton, Springdale, Verona [Tom Mathies, Verona].

District 6 – Berry, Black Earth, Cross Plains, Springfield, Vermont [Jim Pulvermacher, Springfield].

District 7 – Dane, Mazomanie, Roxbury, Vienna, Westport. [Mary Manering, Westport].

It is up to the individual directors to communicate their interest in seeking re-election to their Districts.

## **BOARD MEMBER DUTIES**

The Board meets monthly and as needed. Meetings are scheduled to meet the calendars of the Board. They are currently being held on the third Wednesday of the month at 7 p.m. Board members establish educational programming and review policy of the DCTA on pending issues. They also oversee the budget of the Association, represent the Association on important issues, and direct the Association's attorney and Executive Director.

Board members are expected to attend Board meetings and to contribute expertise and interest in various areas of town government. It is highly desirable that Board members be willing to attend meetings of state and county committees or agencies on behalf of the Association. Board members receive an honorarium of \$50 per meeting, including Board meetings and meetings of other bodies as Association representatives.

## VOTING

The towns included in each district caucus to elect a director. Towns must be current on their membership dues (paid one month prior to the Annual Meeting or 4/17/2023) to vote. Each town has one vote. As detailed in Article V, the vote of each town shall be determined by a majority vote of each town board, or if only one member from a town is present, the vote cast by such member shall be construed as the vote of such town. The town chairperson shall vote for the town if the town board members present are tied on a vote.

## OFFICERS

The DCTA has a President and a Vice President. Those officers are elected by the Board of Directors from within the Board membership. They will be elected at the Annual Meeting after the Board of Directors is elected.